Al-Anonfiction

Hi.

My name is Denise,

and I’m a non-fiction addict.

[Ok, so I know that Al-Anon is for the families of addicts and not the addicts themselves, but it made for a better title. Bear with me. I have a confession.]

I don’t read fiction.

Isn’t that weird?

With the exception of a few of the classics and the Little House series, I find it hard to devote much time to reading fiction. I think it started somewhere around community college with my first copy (yes, I said first copy) of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey.

That is why you will find that my book reviews are primarily of the non-fiction variety.

Thanks for letting me get that off my chest. Phew.

However, I AM interested in any recommendations for great reads- either fiction OR nonfiction. I’m looking forward to reading more as I stay home during this chapter of my life.

So, how about it? What good books have you read lately?

It started young- Thomas Edison's biography!

It started young- Thomas Edison’s biography!

3 thoughts on “Al-Anonfiction

  1. I just love the SMELL of books, and the feel of paper, and good words, and……okay I just love to read. Lately I’ve been reading fiction by Joel C. Rosenberg – high adventure and quality writing, but with a clear gospel message (although I don’t believe it was published as christian fiction!). For non-fiction I just finished “The Money Saving Mom’s Budget” by Crystal Paine for my book club. If you are looking to save money, she’s got some good ideas.

  2. I thought of another fiction book you might enjoy. It’s called “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie” by Alan Bradley. It’s the first in a series of mysteries where the protagonist is a rather unusual 11-year-old girl. If you can picture our mutual friend John M. as a British girl of an earlier era who loves chemistry, you’ll get an idea of what Flavia de Luce is like. It is such an unexpected piece of fiction but not snobby. I wait impatiently for each new installment.

Leave a Reply

